Skip to main content

Special Circumstances During the COVID-19 Crisis: Remote Resources And Guidance For Users: Lightner Library Remote Resources

Although Lightner Library is closed due to the COVID-19 crisis, the library is able to provide many services virtually including reference help and Interlibrary Loan.

Research Assistance

Librarians are still available to students and faculty in a variety of ways that include:

  • Emailing us at refhelp@keuka.edu with your questions;
  • Using the Ask a Librarian link on the library's home page;
  • Using the virtual chat box on Lightner Library's home page.  If there is no librarian available on chat, your question will automatically be emailed to refhelp@keuka.edu.

Online Resources

Lightner Library has many online resources that can be accessed remotely.  When accessing these electronic resources from off campus, the user will be asked to log in.  Logging in requires the user to enter the log-in ID and password used to access Keuka email.

Click on the Find an Article link to access an A-Z listing of the library’s databases.

  • The library has set up free trials to the following databases: 
    • ‚ÄčAcademic Search Ultimate (Ebsco), multidisciplinary database with access to over 8,453 active full-text peer-reviewed journals;
    • EBook Academic Collection (Ebsco), a collection of ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects;
    • Ebook Subscription Harvard Business Publishing Collection (Ebsco), a collection of ebooks published by the Harvard Business Review Press;
    • Gale Interactive:  Human Anatomy;
    • HeinOnline, a database containing historical and government documents together with a collection of law-related and academic periodicals.

Click on the Databases By Subject link to find the best databases for your topic.

Click on the Find an E-Book link to access Lightner Library’s collections of e-books.

  • The library has added MIT Press Direct to its e-book collection.  This is a multidisciplinary collection of e-books offered temporarily to support students and faculty working remotely.

Click on this List of Open Access Databases to access databases that provide content for free on the Internet.

Interlibrary Loan

Articles that students and faculty need that are not available through our databases may be requested on Interlibrary Loan and will be delivered electronically.  At the present time, physical books cannot be requested on ILL. For more information about Interlibrary Loan including how to set up an ILL account, you can check out the Interlibrary Loan LibGuide.

Returning Library Materials

Now that the semester is over, please return your library materials, including Interlibrary Loan books, to Lightner Library.  You can mail them back, and you do not need a mailing label from the library.  Find a mailing envelope or box and address it to Lightner Library, Keuka College, Keuka Park, NY  14478.  When you take it to the Post Office for mailing, request that it be sent Library Rate which is cheaper than sending it first class.  

 

Research Guides and How-tos

Check out the library’s collection of Library Guides, also known as LibGuides, which are available 24/7 to help you navigate the library’s resources.

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208