Skip to main content

Information Resources for AOE Students: Finding Articles

The purpose of this guide is to introduce CPS students to navigation of Lightner Library resources and to provide research tutorials.

Different Ways to Find Articles

There are three main methods to find articles using the Lightner Library Website.

1. Find an Article - This link will take you to an alphabetical listing of our article databases. This link is useful for when you already know which database to use for your research topic.

2. Databases by Subject - This is a tool which will help you to narrow down our database list to only those you need based on subject area and/or database type. This is useful for beginners who may not know which database to use for their topic.

3. Find a Journal Title - This is useful when you already know which journal you want to search in or read. You can also use it to see if Lightner Library owns a particular article you are looking for.

See the slides below for step-by-step instructions with screenshots on using all three of these methods.

Finding Articles Video Tutorials

You may prefer to watch video tutorials to help you with finding articles. The playlist below contains tutorial videos made specifically for Keuka College students to help you through this process.

Using Find a Journal Title to Find a Specific Article

Using Find a Journal Title to Find a Specific Article

Do you need to find a required article in a specific journal? Or perhaps you found a citation in a references list and you want to read the article cited?

Here is what you will need to know (compare with the example citation below):

  • The article title
  • The journal title
  • The year of publication
  • The volume number
  • The issue number

 

 

1. The first step is to go to Find a Journal Title and search for (you guessed it) the journal title. In the example above, the journal title is Deviant Behavior.

In our example search, you can see that Deviant Behavior is carried by only one of our databases, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text. You will also notice that the database carries the following years in full text: 1999 to 18 months ago

The next steps depend upon whether you want to search for your article by volume/issue number or by the article title.
Click the headings below for the instructions pertaining to your situation.

 

Search for your article by the title

Search for your article by volume and issue number

AOE Librarian

April Higgins's picture
April Higgins
Contact:
(315) 279-5411