Skip to main content

Education Resources: Finding Articles

Finding educational materials including books, articles and websites to help with your research.

Find a Journal Title

Use Find a Journal Title to quickly find out if Lightner Library has access to a specific journal title either in print or online.  You can link to Find a Journal Title from this LibGuide or you can find it on the library's home page.  If you find the library has access to a journal electronically, you can go directly from Find a Journal Title to the online journal.  If the library has the journal in print, ask a reference librarian or someone at the circulation desk to show you where the journal you are looking for is located. 

Print Resources - Indexes & Abstracts

Use these indexes and abstracts for finding older materials since databases do not usually go back more than 20-30 years.

EbscoHost

EbscoHost has a number of different databases that you might want to use to find education and education-related articles.  If you need scholarly articles, be sure to limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.

  • Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that includes materials on education.
  • ERIC is a definitive education database that indexes articles and ERIC documents.
  • Professional Development Collection is designed for professional educators and provides a highly specialized collection of education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.  It also contains over 200 educational reports.
  • PsycArticles contains full text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology.  This is a good resource for finding articles on educational psychology and counseling topics.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a high quality sociology research database  

Other Suggested Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Some of its content is now freely available on the Internet.  Click on the link below to search for articles.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly articles.  The drawback is that not all articles are available for free, and articles may not be as current as those in the library's databases.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Most college and university databases are not free to the public; students must use a user name and password to access them. However, there are some collections of online scholarly journals called "open access" that are available on the Internet to everyone.  Directory of Open Access Journals is free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. You can search for scholarly articles by title or topic.   

Databases By Subject

To locate the best databases for your subject area, click on the link below.

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208