Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Find an Article

Use this guide to learn more about Lightner Library and the services and resources that we offer.

ProQuest

ProQuest is another super collection of research databases that covers a broad range of subject areas. It also has full text of the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. 


Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

Lexis/Nexis

Database containing full text of newspapers from the United States and around the world, including the New York Times.  Also has full text of many resources in the business area.

Article Databases

Lightner Library's online research databases cover a wide variety of subject areas. The most popular databases are EBSCOHost, Lexis/Nexis, and ProQuest.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost is a collection of databases that contain thousands of full text articles. It is an excellent place to begin your research.  Some of the databases that you may find helpful are:

  • Academic Search Premier  covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,800 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting and more.
  • CINAHL with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professions.
  • Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition is great for the nursing student as it provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals.
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.

To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

 

 

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208