Skip to main content

How to Write a Research Paper: Finding Books

Need help with your research paper. Check out this LibGuide to find out how to get started.

EBSCO E-Books

Ebsco E-books is a large collection of electronic books covering a broad range of academic subjects that are available 24/7. You can read them on your computer or print out small portions of the book. You can also search within each by chapter, index, or keyword.

To access EBSCO E-Books click on the link below and then select Ebsco Ebooks.

Downloading Ebsco Ebooks

Some books in the Ebsco Ebook Collection are available for download.

If a download is available, you will see a "download (offline)" link icon. If a download is not available, you can still access the book on your computer through the Ebsco Ebook database.

You must log in (sign in) with the Ebsco user account in order to download a book. You can create a new user account by clicking on the "sign in" link, then the "create new account" link.

In order to download eBooks, Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher must be installed on your computer or mobile device. You will also need to register for an Adobe ID (if you do not yet have one).  Adobe Digital Editions is available for download here.

Once a book is downloaded, it is checked out for two weeks and not available to other users until it is returned. It will appear on your Adobe Digital Editions bookshelf (after signing in with your Adobe ID).

Instruction links for downloading Ebooks are provided below.

Books

Books can be an excellent place to go to find information for your research paper. To locate books in Lightner Library, you can use our online catalog. You can also use the online catalog to find non-print materials such as DVDs, CDs, and videotapes. 

To search the catalog, type a keyword or keywords into the search box. Select a field in the Search by box. To search all the fields select Any field. To search a single field such as Author or Title, select the field in the drop down menu. Click Go. The search results will show you all the titles that matched your search.  You can click on any title to see more information. The results will tell you whether the item is available.

Once you find a book you are interested in, be sure to write down the call number so you can locate it on the shelf. Lightner Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize our collection. This system arranges our materials by subject.  Once you find the book you are looking for, you should browse the shelves as there may be other books there that you can use for your research paper.

Search catalog for:

Where can I find it in the Library?

Use the table below to locate library materials.  If you are still having difficulty finding something, see a librarian for help or ask at the Circulation Desk.

Library Location                 Floor                                      
General Collection Main Floor, Lower Level
  Call Numbers A - P Main Floor
   Call Numbers Q - Z Lower Level
Reserve Collection Circulation Desk
Reference Collection Main Floor
Oversized Collection Main Floor
Juvenile Collection Lower Level
Current Periodicals

Main Floor, Circulation Desk

Periodicals Lower Level
CDs, DVDs, Kits, Videos Circulation Desk
Microfilm Main Floor

 

                                                            

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208