Skip to main content

Information Resources for AOE Students: Choosing Databases

The purpose of this guide is to introduce CPS students to navigation of Lightner Library resources and to provide research tutorials.

What is a Database?

What is a database?

Library databases are online collections of journal articles, ebooks, encyclopedia articles, reports, images, videos, etc that allow users to search to access the information they need. Databases can cover several subjects and others are more subject-specific. They provide information that is not available through Google and other search engines.

Choosing Databases

Choosing Databases

You can use the Databases by Subject tool to help you to narrow down our database list to only those you need based on subject area and/or database type. It also provides descriptions of each database, so you can easily understand what each one provides. This is useful for beginners who may not know which database to use for their topic.

This page will give you a brief summary of the databases we recommend most for AOE programs.

Find the box below for your program to see the best databases for you. Article Databases can provide journal articles to you, and Reference Databases provide encyclopedia articles or reports.

For more help on using the databases, see our Using Databases page.

Business & Management

EBSCOhost Databases for Business & Management
Infotrac Databases for Business & Management
All Other Databases for Business & Management
Reference Databases for Business & Management
Loading ...

Criminal Justice

EBSCOhost Databases for Criminal Justice
Infotrac Databases for Criminal Justice
All Other Databases for Criminal Justice
Reference Databases for Criminal Justice
Loading ...

Nursing

EBSCOhost Databases for Nursing
Infotrac Databases for Nursing
All Other Databases for Nursing
Reference Databases for Nursing
Loading ...

Social Work

EBSCOhost Databases for Social Work
Infotrac Databases for Social Work
All Other Databases for Social Work
Reference Databases for Social Work
Loading ...

AOE Librarian

April Higgins's picture
April Higgins
Contact:
(315) 279-5411