Skip to main content

Criminal Justice Resources: Online Research Databases

Find a Journal Title

If you need to find a specific journal or magazine title, Find a Journal can help you. Use the link in this box to go directly to it. With Find a Journal, enter the title of the journal to discover if the library has it in full text in several of our research databases. By clicking on one of the links, you can go directly to the online journal. 

Journal Linker

EBSCOHost and ProQuest have built in the Find a Journal Title feature into their databases. ProQuest calls it the 360 Link to Full Text and EBSCO calls it Journal Linker Full Text Search. There will be occasions when you are doing a thorough literature search and will find articles with just the abstracts. By clicking on the 360 Link to Full Text or the Journal Linker, you can determine if we have the full text article in another database. If we do, you can then click on the link and go directly to that database.

LexisNexis

Search in LexisNexis to access primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations. You can also search for secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. It's a great database to start with. Some of the databases that you will find helpful for criminal justice research are:

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full text is a comprehensive criminal justice database with full text articles.


The important thing to remember is to Check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals


What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

ProQuest

Similar to EBSCOHost, ProQuest is a collection of research databases that cover a broad range of subject areas.

Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

Ordering articles from other colleges

 

You can order articles from other colleges just like you order books. Use our new online interlibrary loan system ~ ILLiad. You must register with ILLiad by creating a username and password. Once you are registered, you can make requests for articles at your computer. You will also have the ability to track your requests online.

The length of time to obtain interlibrary loaned material depends on the capability of the lending library. It can take from less than a day to obtain an electronic copy of an article to two or three weeks for a book. Please plan ahead when requesting interlibrary loans to fulfill your assignments.

 

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208