Skip to main content

Epidemiology: Finding articles

Find a Journal Title

Do you need to find a required article in a specific journal? The Find a Journal Title tool can help you.  You can link to the Find a Journal Title tool from this LibGuide (see the link below) or you can find it on the library's home page.

OvidSP

OvidSP has full text articles from: American Journal of Nursing, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Educator and Nursing Research. When you log into OvidSP, select the first link, Your Journals@Ovid. After you do your search, you will see the link for Full text at the right side of each article summary.  


Evidence Based Practice

The British Medical Journal is an international peer reviewed medical journal and is an excellent source for articles on evidence based practice.

The website is updated daily with the BMJ’s latest original research, education, news, and comment articles, as well as podcasts, videos, and blogs.

The BMJ provides open access to their peer reviewed research articles. 

 

 

 

 

 

ProQuest

ProQuest is another comprehensive research database. To limit your search to full text articles or to scholarly journals, select the Advanced Search tab that is across the top of the search screen. Select the full text option or the scholarly journal option. Just as with EBSCOHost, you may print out the article, e-mail to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

What is a scholarly journal?

How do you tell the difference between a popular magazine and a scholarly journal? Watch this youtube video produced by the Vanderbilt University Library.

Article Databases

The library's top online databases for nursing are EBSCOHost, ProQuest, and OvidSP. Learn more about each one in this libguide. 

 

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. 


For finding articles on epidemiology topics the following EBSCO databases will be useful: 

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • CINAHL with Full Text: Authoritative collection of nursing journals.
  • Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition gives you access to over 550 scholarly full-text nursing journals.
  • MEDLINE
  • PsycArticles
  • SocIndex with Full Text

 Watch the video about searching for articles in EBSCOHost.

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208