Skip to main content

MGT 550: Marketing for Managers: Finding articles

The A-Z List

Click on the link below to go to Lightner Library's A-Z List that can help you find the recommended research sources listed below. For example, instructor suggests that you browse current issues of Forbes Magazine. Go to the A-Z List, enter the title and discover that the library has it in full text in several of our research databases. By clicking on one of the links, you can go directly from the A-Z List to the full-text journal.

Research Sources

The following magazines, journals and newspapers can be found in several of Lightner Library's online databases and I have listed just one for each publication. You can find them by clicking on the Find a Journal icon (library home page) and then typing in the journal title. If we have the journal available full text, you can link directly to the publication and can search within it.

Business Week: can be found in EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier

Fast Company: can be found in EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier

Harvard Business Review: can be found in EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier

Business Horizons: can be found in Wilson Select Plus

Fortune Magazine: can be found in EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier 

Forbes Magazine: can be found in EBSCOHost's Business Source Premier

Wall Street Journal: can be found in ProQuest Central

New York Times: can be found in ProQuest Central

USA Today, Business section: can be found in EBSCOHost's Academic Search Premier

Financial Times: can be found in ProQuest Central

 

Article Databases

Lightner Library's online research databases cover a wide variety of subject areas. Two of the most popular databases are EBSCOHost and ProQuest. The two text boxes below give the basics of using these two databases.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. It's a great database to start with. Some of the databases that you will find helpful are:

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,800 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting and more.


The important thing to remember is to Check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.


What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

ProQuest

ProQuest is another super collection of research databases that cover a broad range of subject areas. It also has full text of the Wall Street Journal.


When you login to ProQuest, the Basic Search screen comes up first. To find full text articles in ProQuest, select the Advanced Search tab that is across the top of the search screen. This gives you the option of limiting your search to full text articles.


Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208