Skip to main content

NUR 415: Community Health Nursing: Finding articles

Find a Journal Title

Do you need to find a required article in a specific journal? The Find a Journal Title tool can help you.  You can link to the Find a Journal Title tool from this LibGuide (see the link below) or you can find it on the library's home page.

OvidSP

OvidSP has full text articles from: American Journal of Nursing, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Educator and Nursing Research. When you log into OvidSP, select the first link, Your Journals@Ovid. After you do your search, you will see the link for Full text at the right side of each article summary.  


Evidence Based Practice

The British Medical Journal is an international peer reviewed medical journal and is an excellent source for articles on evidence based practice.  All articles appear on the British Medical Journal website, bmj.com, before being published in the print journal. The website is updated daily with the BMJ’s latest original research, education, news, and comment articles, as well as podcasts, videos, and blogs. The BMJ provides open access to their peer reviewed research articles. The research articles are freely available online, with no word limit. 

The link below will take you to the Research section of the BMJ

 

 

 

 


What is a scholarly journal?

How do you tell the difference between a popular magazine and a scholarly journal? Watch this youtube video produced by the Vanderbilt University Library.

Article Databases

For finding scholarly journal articles, our most popular databases are EBSCOHost and ProQuest. The two text boxes below give the basics of using these two databases. Another database geared specifically for nursing students is OvidSP . To learn how to use OVID, take a look at the text boxes in the left column.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. It's a great database to start with. Some of the databases that you will find helpful are:

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,800 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting and more.
  • CINAHL with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professions.
  • Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition is great for the nursing student as it provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals.
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.


To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

See the box below for a short EBSCOHost tutorial.

ProQuest

ProQuest is another comprehensive research database. To limit your search to full text articles or to scholarly journals, select the Advanced Search tab that is across the top of the search screen. Select the full text option or the scholarly journal option. Just as with EBSCOHost, you may print out the article, e-mail to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208