Skip to main content

POL 440: Research Seminar in Politics and History: Finding Articles

Overview of library resources

Lexis/Nexis

Lexis/Nexis has a strong collection of legal resources, but it also provides full text access to many national and international newspapers including The New York Times.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Some of its content is now freely available on the Internet.  Click on the link below and be sure to check the box Include only content I can access to search for the full-text articles that are available for free.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals

EBSCO

EBSCOhost is a collection of databases that contain thousands of full text articles. It is an excellent place to begin your research.  Some of the databases that you may find helpful for this assignment are:

  • Academic Search Premier covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • Business Source Premier is a business research database.
  • Military and Government Collection offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
  • Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.

To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

 

 

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. Drawback is that not all articles are free.
 

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208

ProQuest

ProQuest is another excellent multidisciplinary database that provides access to the full text of many national and international newspapers such as The New York Times and Wall Street Journal.  Newspaper articles are popular pieces that can give you some excellent background as you begin your research.  

Remember to obtain full-text articles, check the Full Text Box when you do a search and if you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

 

 

 

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides  in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.