Skip to main content

BIO 390: Junior Seminar in Natural Science: Articles without Full Text

Ebsco Article Without Full Text

If you find an article in one of the Ebsco databases without full text, you can quickly check to see if the library has the article in another database or in print.

  • Step 1.  Click on the abstract of the article
  • Step 2.  Click on the Full Text Search link on the left side of the abstract.  If the library has access to the article either in print or another database, this link will tell you that.  If the article is in a different database, you can click on the database link and then enter the title of the article to find the full text.  If the article is available only in print in the library, you can locate the article in our print journal collection and then print or scan it.
  • Step 3.  If it turns out that we do not have access to the article, you can go back to the abstract and click on the Request Through Interlibrary Loan link and request the article on ILL.

ProQuest Article Without Full Text

If you find an article in ProQuest without full text, you can quickly check to see if the library has the article in another database or in print.

  • Step 1.  Under a record without full-text, click on the Find a Copy link;
  • Step 2.  Click on the Check for Full Text via 360 link
  • If the library has access to the article either in print or another database, this link will tell you that.  If the article is in a different database, you can click on the database link and then enter the title of the article to find the full text.  If the article is available only in print in the library, you can locate the article in our print journal collection and then print or scan it.
  • Step 3.  If it turns out that we do not have access to the article, you can go back to the Find a Copy link and click on Click here to order Full Text from OCLC ILLiad to request the article on ILL.

What if all you have is a citation?

If all you have is a citation, what should you do?

  • Bubner, B., & Baldwin, I. T. (2004). Use of real-time PCR for determining copy number and zygosity in transgenic plants. Plant Cell Reports, 23(5), 263-71.

Step 1.  Go to the Find a Journal Title link on the library's home page

Step 2.  Enter the title of the journal.  In this example the title is Plant Cell Reports

Step 3.   If the article is in a database, you can click on the database link and then enter the title of the article to find the full text.  If the article is available only in print in the library, you can locate the article in our print journal collection and then print or scan it.

Article 4.  If the article is not available through the library, you can request it on Interlibrary Loan.

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208