Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Finding Articles

Use this guide to learn more about Lightner Library and the services and resources that we offer.

What is a Database?

What is a database?

Library databases are online collections of journal articles, ebooks, encyclopedia articles, reports, images, videos, etc that allow users to search to access the information they need. Databases can cover several subjects and others are more subject-specific. They provide information that is not available through Google and other search engines.

Different Ways to Find Articles

There are three main methods to find articles using the Lightner Library Website.

1. Find an Article - This link will take you to an alphabetical listing of our article databases. This link is useful for when you already know which database to use for your research topic.

2. Databases by Subject - This is a tool which will help you to narrow down our database list to only those you need based on subject area and/or database type. This is useful for beginners who may not know which database to use for their topic.

3. Find a Journal Title - This is useful when you already know which journal you want to search in or read. You can also use it to see if Lightner Library owns a particular article you are looking for.

See the slides below for step-by-step instructions with screenshots on using all three of these methods.

Finding Articles Video Tutorials

You may prefer to watch video tutorials to help you with finding articles. The playlist below contains tutorial videos made specifically for Keuka College students to help you through this process.

Library Director

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208