Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Finding Books

Use this guide to learn more about Lightner Library and the services and resources that we offer.

Finding Books

Finding Books

The library has numerous types of books available in physical and digital formats.

Physical Books

We currently have 87,000+ volumes in our physical collections. To see a map of where each collection is located, visit this guide.

Our collections are:

  • Reference Collection
    • Includes encyclopedias, reports, statistics, dictionaries, etc.
    • Call numbers beginning with REF
    • Cannot be checked out - must be used in the library
  • Oversize Collection
    • Includes monographs (books about a single subject)
    • Mostly non-fiction, some fiction
    • Books are literally "oversized" - they are too big for normal shelves!
    • Call number beginning with OVR
    • Can be checked out for 35 days at a time
  • General Collection
    • Includes monographs (books about a single subject)
    • Mostly non-fiction, some fiction
    • Can be checked out for 35 days at a time
    • Call numbers A-P on main floor; Q-Z on lower level
  • Juvenile Collection
    • Includes books for young readers - all age ranges, including young adult novels
    • Mostly fiction, some non-fiction
    • Call numbers beginning with JUV
    • Can be checked out for 35 days at a time

Ebooks

We have thousands of ebook titles available through our databases. For more information about how to find them and use them, see Finding Ebooks.

Find a Book or DVD Owned by Lightner Library

Look for Books and DVDs Owned by Lightner Library

To find books and DVDs in Lightner Library, use our Polaris Online Library Catalog

The search results will show you all the titles that matched your search. You can then click on any title to see more information. The results will tell you if the book is checked out or if it is available. It will also tell you the call number, which you can use to find the book in the stacks.

If the item you are looking for is not in the results, you can request it on interlibrary loan to have it mailed here for campus (or to your home address if you don't live near campus).

For more information on this process, visit the How to Find Physical Resources in the Library Guide.

Other Collections

Other Collections at Lightner Library

We have two different DVD collections. No more than 3 DVDs total may be checked out at a time.

  • DVD Collection
    • Videos collected for instructional purposes
    • 35 day loan
  • Entertainment Collection
    • Videos collected for students, staff, or faculty to use for entertainment purposes
    • 7 day loan

For CDs, course reserves, microfilm, rare books, or archives, please ask at the Circulation Desk.

Library Director

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208

Finding Books at Other Libraries

Look for Books Owned by Other Libraries

If you want to check and see how many other libraries across the nation have the item you are looking for, you can try searching for it in WorldCat.

This will give you an idea of how easy it will be for us to retrieve it for you on Interlibrary Loan. However, you are not required to check WorldCat before requesting an item.

Note that there is a direct link to request an item in our interlibrary loan system (ILLiad) from WorldCat, so it can be a very easy and convenient way to request a book. Just click "Send Request to Iliad" from the details page for the item.