Before you begin your search in the library databases, you need to identify some good search terms to try for your topic. Take a look at the steps below to get an idea of the process:
All of our databases have the same basic functionalities but may differ slightly in appearance. Look for the following filters in the databases to narrow your search to only the most relevant results for you. Keep in mind that sometimes the filters show up after you click the search button.
The first step is to try the Full-Text Search link (available in EBSCOhost and Proquest databases). Screenshot below.
If you are using a database which does not have these links, go to our Find a Journal Title search and search for the title of the journal which contains the article (sometimes the journal title is listed as the "Source" in our databases).
If the Full-Text search or Find a Journal Title search came up with no results, the next step is to request the article on Interlibrary Loan. In our EBSCOhost and Proquest databases, we have a shortcut to request the article quickly (see screenshot above).
Interlibrary Loan for articles takes about 2-3 business days and will be delivered to you via email. For more information on interlibrary loan, please visit our Interlibrary Loan Guide.
The tutorial below was made specifically for you by the AOE Librarian. In the video, she takes you through a tutorial on searching EBSCOhost databases. Most of our databases work similarly to EBSCOhost, so watching the tutorials below will be useful if you are having trouble navigating databases.