Skip to main content

NUR 425: Nursing Leadership: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Two of the most popular databases are EBSCOHost and ProQuest. The OvidSP database is geared especially for nurses.

Find a Journal Title

Do you need to find a required article in a specific journal? The Find a Journal Title tool can help you.  You can link to the Find a Journal Title tool from this LibGuide (see the link below) or you can find it on the library's home page.

OvidSP

OvidSP has full text articles from 5 nursing journals. When you log into Ovid, select Your Journals@Ovid. After you do your search, you will see the link for Full text at the right side of each article summary.  

 

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. It's a great database to start with. Some of the databases that you will find helpful are:

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,800 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting and more.
  • CINAHL with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professions.
  • Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition is great for the nursing student as it provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals.
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.


To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals. What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

To learn more about searching for articles in EBSCOHost, watch the short video.

ProQuest

ProQuest is another super collection of research databases that cover a broad range of subject areas. 

Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

Reference Librarian

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208