Skip to main content

Nursing History: Books & Ebooks

Nursing History Books

Nursing History Books

Books tend to cover broader topics than articles. You will likely not read the entire book, but you may use certain chapters which cover the specific topic you are researching.

If you live far away from the library, we recommend you search for our Ebsco Ebook Collection first. Ebooks can be read right away using your computer. Reference books such as encyclopedias are also available digitally through the Gale Virtual Reference Library and the Encyclopedia Britannica.

After you have exhausted the ebooks available from Ebsco, then try searching our Library Catalog. We can send them to your home address using our Interlibrary Loan system. It takes about 1 week. Please note that our reference books such as encyclopedias cannot leave the library, so we cannot send them through the mail.

If you find a book on Amazon or elsewhere that we do not own, you can request the item on interlibrary loan. Please allow 2 weeks for those to arrive.

Below is a list of books and ebooks on this topic that the librarians have found for your convenience.

Ebook Highlights

Highlights from the Lightner Library Print Collection

Reference Books

These books cannot be checked out of the library or mailed out to CPS students. They must be used in the library during open hours. View our hours on the home page. If you cannot make it out to campus, check out our digital reference collection at Gale Virtual Reference Library.

General Collection

These books can be checked out of the library. They can also be mailed out to CPS students. Please allow 1 week for them to arrive in the mail. You must pay the return postage (usually less than $5) to send them back to the library when they are due. 

Ebooks in the Internet Archive

The Internet Archive has a huge collection of free, full-text ebooks on nursing history topics. The books can be downloaded onto your computer, uploaded to a Kindle, or read online.

Older Titles in Print at Lightner Library

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208