Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a variety of encyclopedias and other reference texts in digital format, including the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed.
Defining Documents in American History: The Gun Debate
Print Reference Sources
Following are some materials in the library's print reference collection that may be relevant to your research project.
21st Century Political Science by
Publication Date: Ref JA66 .A21 2011
21st Century Reference Series volumes on political science highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in this field ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
The Civilian Lives of U.S. Veterans by
Call Number: Ref UB357 .C565 2017
In this book, 50 experts study the lives of U.S. veterans at work, at home, and in American society as they navigate issues regarding health, gender, public service, substance abuse, and homelessness.
Contemporary Supreme Court Cases by
Call Number: Ref KF4550.Z9 L58 2016
With its blend of accessible writing and actual excerpts from Court opinions, this book serves to explain the legal and cultural underpinnings of landmark U.S. Supreme Court decisions of the past 35 years--and to illuminate how these decisions have shaped the trajectory and character of modern American society.
Defining Documents in American History: The Gun Debate by
Call Number: Ref KF3941.A68 G86 2019
Beginning with the drafting of the Constitution itself up to the present day, there have been intense arguments made both for and against the rights of citizens to form a "well-regulated militia" as set forth in the Second Amendment. The arguments have become more impassioned in recent years due to the rising number of incidents of school and mass shootings. This volume analyzes documents that have played a significant role in the attempt to balance the long tradition of gun culture in this country with calls for gun control, including: The Second Amendment; St. George Tucker, Blackstone's Commentaries; No Treason by Lysander Spooner; U.S. v. Miller; District of Columbia v. Heller and Firearms in America: Personal Liberty versus Collective Responsibility.
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties [4 Volumes] by
Call Number: Ref KF4748 .E53 2017
Thoroughly updated and featuring 75 new entries, this monumental four-volume work illuminates past and present events associated with civil rights and civil liberties in the United States.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Call Number: Ref KF4548 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America by
Call Number: Ref UB357 .E53 2009
A comprehensive encyclopedia that describes the experiences of American veterans from the Revolutionary War to the present.
From Suffrage to the Senate - America's Political Women by
Call Number: Ref HQ1236.5.U6 O34 2013
From Suffrage to the Senate is a comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
Gender and Women's Leadership by
Call Number: Ref HQ1233 .G452 2010
This work is an authoritative reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender.
Guide to U. S. Elections by
Call Number: Ref JK1967 .C662 2010
Provides basic information on the electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between,
Gun Control in the United States by
Call Number: Ref HV7436 .C36 2017
This up-to-date second-edition work will stimulate and clarify readers' thinking on the key issues surrounding guns in the United States--especially on the debate over gun control.
Guns and Contemporary Society by
Call Number: Ref HV7436 .G877185 2016
This three-volume set examines various approaches to firearms, including constitutional and legal issues, public health and criminal justice concerns, and perspectives on personal safety and self-defense.
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups by
Call Number: Ref JK2261 .O75 2010
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups is a major new volume that will help scholars assess the current state of scholarship on parties and interest groups and the directions in which it needs to move.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Surveillance, Security, and Privacy by
Call Number: Ref HM846 .S26 2019
This encyclopedia uncovers and explains how surveillance has come to be an integral part of how our contemporary society operates worldwide and how it impacts our security and privacy.
Social Media and Politics by
Call Number: Ref JA85.2.U6 S67 2017
This two-volume set explores the various ways social media are profoundly changing politics in America.
Standards and Accountability in Schools by
Call Number: Ref LB2805 .S414 2012
This volume in the point/counterpoint Debating Issues in American Education reference series tackles the topic of standards and accountability in schools. Fifteen to twenty chapters explore such varied issues as assessment (of students, of teachers), basic-skills testing, high-stakes exams, NCLB and its legacy, pay-for-performance, standard vs. alternative teacher certification, and more.
The Supreme Court and Individual Rights by
Call Number: Ref KF4748 .W53 2009
Covers significant Court rulings on expressive freedoms, political participation, the right to bear arms, due process, and equal rights.
Today's Social Issues by
Call Number: Ref JK2316 .K64 2016
Covering everything from abortion to gun control to immigration, this book explains policies and positions of today's Democratic and Republican parties, giving readers a complete understanding of modern-day American politics and the 2016 presidential race.
Veterans Rights and Benefits by
Call Number: Ref KF7745 .J37 2009
As soldiers return from war, they begin the difficult process of re-assimilating into society. Veterans' Rights and Benefits is written for the returning and active soldier and his or her family in an effort to clarify those rights available to them, as well as explain some of the obstacles they may encounter in seeking them.
Women in Combat by
Call Number: Ref UB418.W65 S563 2011
This handbook provides a straightforward account of how women have served in combat roles and explains the ongoing controversy surrounding efforts to legalize combat assignments for female service members.
Women in the American Political System by
Call Number: Ref HQ1236.5.U6 W664 2019
This book examines how women candidates, voters, and office holders shape U.S. political processes and institutions, lending their perspectives to gradually evolve American life and values. This book provides an encyclopedic sourcebook on the evolution of women's involvement in American politics from the colonial era to the present.