Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Resources for AOE Students: Annotated Bibliographies

The purpose of this guide is to introduce CPS students to navigation of Lightner Library resources and to provide research tutorials.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

The following definitions are quoted from Purdue OWL's Annotated Bibliographies Guide.

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

  • Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
  • Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
  • Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?

Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.

Check out the links below for more information on how to write an Annotated Bibliography.

Writing Help

Writing Help

The Writing Center is a great support service for students, which can help you improve your writing skills. You can also check out their pages on KC Portal and Facebook

If you would like to visit the Writing Center in person, it is best to make an appointment first. You can do so by visiting their website. However, walk-ins are also welcome! You can also set up a virtual chat by emailing writinghelp@keuka.edu.

To get feedback on your writing, you can upload your paper to the Writing Center at this link: http://keuka.mywconline.com/‚ÄčYour paper will be returned within 48 hours with comments and suggestions added.

You can call the Writing Center at this number: 315-279-5108

If you need extra help with your formatting and citations, you can also email the librarians at refhelp@keuka.edu for guidance.

For a quick check-over of your APA format and citations, you can also email your paper to a librarian: April Higgins at ahiggins@keuka.edu.

The Writing Center has also provided several resources on their website, including an APA Template for Microsoft Word and a concise guide for all things about writing. See the links below for these.

AOE Librarian

April Higgins's picture
April Higgins
Contact:
(315) 279-5411