Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Locating Popular Sources
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides more than 20.000 pro/con viewpoints, topic overviews, primary source documents, court case overviews, over 19,000 reference articles, infographics, statistics, images, videos, interactive maps, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups, and full-text articles from newspapers and other publications.
A weekly publication that covers today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Each issue is an in-depth, single topic report with extensive bibliographies. It is a great place to start your research or to browse through for topic ideas. The library also has it in print in the reference collection (REF H36.C672)
Opposing Viewpoint Series
This is a collection of books located in the Reference Collection (REF H36. O5). Each volume covers a current controversial issue in a debate-style context. Browse through the titles looking for topics that interest you.
This site promotes "critical thinking, education and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
Taking Sides Series
This is collection of books located in the Reference Collection (REF H36. T133). Each volume covers a current controversial issue in a debate-style context. Browse through the titles looking for topics that interest you.
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases that contain thousands of full text articles. It is an excellent place to begin your research. Some of the databases that you may find helpful are:
- Academic Search Premier covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
- Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,800 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting and more.
- CINAHL with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professions.
- Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition is great for the nursing student as it provides access to 550 scholarly full-text journals.
- PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
- SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.
To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.
EBSCOhost offers a broad range of databases designed for research. Click to log in, select which databases to search, and get results from journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks, and more.
ProQuest is another excellent multidisciplinary database. It also has a strong business component with access to the full text of many national and international newspapers, including The New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
Remember to obtain full-text articles, check the Full Text Box when you do a search and if you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.
Provides articles from local, regional, and international newspapers, business publications, and a broad range periodicals in general interest subject areas.