Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation: Finding Ebooks

Use this guide to learn more about Lightner Library and the services and resources that we offer.

Finding Ebooks

How to Find Ebooks

Our primary database for ebooks is EBSCO Ebooks.

Search using broad terms, and look through the results to find the best book. You can then open and read the book in PDF or EPUB format. 

While you have the book open, look for the menu on the left. This menu will allow you to click to different chapters of the book or do a "search within" to find certain words mentioned throughout the book.

How to Access Ebooks

(including E-Textbooks)

For detailed step-by-step instructions on how to access ebooks from EBSCOhost, view the PDF linked below.

Online Reference Databases

Encyclopedias & Reference Ebooks

Downloading Ebsco Ebooks

Some books in the Ebsco Ebook Collection are available for download.

A download provides access to the ebook offline (without internet connection). It is not necessary to download an ebook to read it. You can simply access the book via the "PDF Full Text" or the "EPUB Full Text" link.

If you would prefer to download the book for offline access, follow the instructions below.

If a download is available, you will see a "download (offline)" link icon. If a download is not available, you can still access the book on your computer through the Ebsco Ebook database.

You must log in (sign in) with the Ebsco user account in order to download a book. You can create a new user account by clicking on the "sign in" link, then the "create new account" link.

In order to download eBooks, Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher must be installed on your computer or mobile device. You will also need to register for an Adobe ID (if you do not yet have one).  Adobe Digital Editions is available for download here.

Once a book is downloaded, it is checked out for two weeks. It will appear on your Adobe Digital Editions bookshelf (after signing in with your Adobe ID).

Instruction links for downloading Ebooks are provided below.

Library Director

Profile Photo
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208