Skip to main content

Social Work Resources: Print books

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book that Lightner Library doesn't have? You can order it through our online interlibrary loan system, ILLiad. You must register with ILLiad by creating a username and password.

Once you are registered with ILLiad, you can make requests for books and articles. You will also have the ability to track your requests online.

Please remember that interlibrary loan for books takes time ~ don't procrastinate!

Find a book in Lightner's online catalog

To find books in Lightner Library, use our Polaris online book catalog. You can search Polaris several different ways.

Anywhere search is like a keyword search.

Subject search lets you search by Library of Congress subject headings.

Title lets you search for words only in the title of the book.

Author lets you search for author names only.

The search results will show you all the titles that matched your search. You can then click on any title to see more information. The results will tell you if the book is checked out or if it is available.

Reference books and Specialized Encyclopedias

Below is a list of selected titles located in the Reference area of Lightner Library. Use the call number to help you locate the books in the stacks. If you need help, just stop at the Research Help desk!

Encyclopedia of Social Problems: REF HN28 E55 2008

LGBTQ America Today - An Encyclopedia: REF HQ73.3 U6 L43 2009

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality: REF HQ76.25 E53 1990

The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion: Ref HQ767.84 C55 2009

Encyclopedia of Aging: Ref HQ1061 E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society: REF HQ1115 E54 2009

Encyclopedia of Social Work: REF HV12 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups: REF HV45 E53 2009

Encyclopedia of Elder Care: REF HV875 K34 2009

Encyclopedia of Disability: REF HV1568 E528 2006

Encyclopedia of Homelessness: Ref HV4493 E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Alcoholism and alcohol abuse: Ref HV5017 G65 2010

Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol and addictive behavior: REF HV5804 E53 2009

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse: Ref HV6626 E535 2013

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208