Skip to main content

Social Work Resources: Find an article

ProQuest

ProQuest is another super collection of research databases that cover a broad range of subject areas.

Just as with EBSCOHost, you have the option of printing out the article, e-mailing it to yourself or saving it to your computer hard drive or flash drive.

 

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Academic provides access to a wide variety of authoritative sources including national and international newspapers such as The New York Times and The Washington Post; as well as a variety of legal sources, both Federal, state, and international together with law review articles from over 500 publications.

Article Databases

Lightner Library's online research databases cover a wide variety of subject areas. Two of the most popular databases are EBSCOHost and ProQuest. However, don't limit yourself to these two as Lightner Library has many others that will prove helpful.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. It's a great database to start with. Some of the databases that you will find helpful are:

  • Academic Search Premier is first on the list and is quite extensive. It covers social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, medicine, social work and more.
  • ERIC
  • PsycARTICLES has full-text of 46 journals published by the Americal Psychological Association and allied organizations.
  • SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database.


To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.


What are your options once you've found the perfect article? Take a look at the icons across the top of the results page: you can print out the article, e-mail it to yourself or save it to your computer hard drive or a flash drive.

Subject Guide

Linda Park's picture
Linda Park
Contact:
(315) 279-5208