Using Publication Finder to Find a Specific Article
Do you need to find a required article in a specific journal? Or perhaps you found a citation in a references list and you want to read the article cited?
Here is what you will need to know (compare with the example citation below):
- The article title
- The journal title
- The year of publication
- The volume number
- The issue number
1. The first step is to go to Publication Finder and search for the journal title. In the example above, the journal title is Deviant Behavior.
In our example search, you can see that Deviant Behavior is carried by two of our databases: SocINDEX and Criminal Justice Abstracts. You will also notice that the database carries the following years in full text: 1999 to 18 months ago:
The next steps depend upon whether you want to search for your article by volume/issue number or by the article title.
Click the headings below for the instructions pertaining to your situation.
Search for your article by the title
2. The next step is to click on the database name which has years containing our year of publication. (In the example, the year of publication is 2014.)
That takes us to that database's page for the journal. You will see a lot of information about the journal listed there, including whether it is a peer-reviewed journal or not.
3. You will also see a link or a search box somewhere within the database that says "Search within this publication" or "Search all issues." Click the link or type in the search box to search for the title of the article.
4. In our example citation, the article title is, "Hacking in High School: Cybercrime Perpetration by Juveniles." We can enter in just enough words to locate the article. Click "search."
5. Once we find the article we are looking for, we can click the link that says "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" to read it.
Search for your article by volume and issue number
2. The next step is to click on the database name which has years containing our year of publication. (In the example, the year of publication is 2014.)
That takes us to that database's page for the journal. You will see a lot of information about the journal listed there, including whether it is a peer-reviewed journal or not.
3. You will also see a list of years (or a dropdown of years, depending upon which database you are using.) We already know we need 2014 for our example, so we will select that. That expands the year so you can see all of the volumes and issues in that year.
4. In our example citation, the volume we need is 35 and the issue is 7. So here, we click on the entry that says "Vol. 35 Issue 7 - Jul2014."
5. Now we see a list of every article contained in that volume and issue of the journal. The next step is to look for the article title we are looking for. In our example, it is "Hacking in high school: Cybercrime perpetration by juveniles."
6. Once we find the article we are looking for, we can click the link that says "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" to read it.
