LibGuides: Psychology Resources: Finding Articles

Find a Journal Title

Use Find a Journal Title to quickly find out if Lightner Library has access to a specific journal title either in print or online. You can link to Find a Journal Title below or you can find it on the library's home page. IIf you find the library has access to a journal electronically, you can go directly from Find a Journal Title to the online journal.

Find a Journal Title

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Some of its content is now freely available on the Internet. Click on the link below and be sure to check the box Include only content I can access to search for the full-text articles that are available for free.

JSTOR

Annual Review of Psychology

Covers the significant developments in the field of psychology,

Annual Review of Psychology This link opens in a new window
The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more

Using Lightner Discovery

You can use the Lightner Discovery search box located on the the Lightner Library Home Page to search for books, ebooks, scholarly articles, news, magazines, and more!

Watch the video below for a tutorial on how to use this search tool.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost is a collection of 20 different research databases with full text of over 10,000 publications. PsycArticles is one of the Ebsco databases that you will want to use for your psychology research. The Ebsco databases that you will find helpful for psychology research are listed below. :

Academic Search Premier has strong coverage in psychology and the social sciences
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide.
ERIC is the premier database of education literature
CINAHL with full-text resources for nursing and allied health professions.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
MEDLINE has extensive coverage of psychological and psychiatric literature
PsycArticles indexes journals published by the American Psychological Association
SocINDEX with full text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database

To obtain full-text articles, remember to check the Full Text Box when you do a search. This will give you results in html full text or pdf full text. If you are looking for research articles from scholarly journals, remember to check the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.

EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost offers a broad range of databases designed for research. Click to log in, select which databases to search, and get results from journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks, and more.

Reference Librarian

Linda Park

Email Me

Contact:

(315) 279-5208

ProQuest

ProQuest is another collection of research databases that cover a broad range of subject areas including psychology.

Proquest This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from local, regional, and international newspapers, business publications, and a broad range periodicals in general interest subject areas.