Skip to main content

Interlibrary Loan: Requesting Items

Interlibrary loan is a service that allows you to get materials that we do not own at Keuka College. We will request materials from other libraries for your use. Currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff can request interlibrary loans free of charg

Requesting Articles Directly from Databases

Our EBSCOhost and Proquest databases have a tool which allows you to automatically request an article on interlibrary loan from the Details / Abstract page.

You'll notice that on these pages (when there is no full text available) there is a link to a Full-Text Search and a link to Request through Interlibrary Loan

See image below.

Try the Full-Text Search first. This will tell you if the journal that has this article is available full-text in any other databases we have. If there is another database that has it, click the database name, then navigate to the volume and issue that has the article you are looking for. You can find this information on the Details / Abstract page where you clicked the link.

If the Full-Text Search comes up with 0 results, then try clicking "Request through Interlibrary Loan." Log into your ILLiad account (if you don't have an account, see the General Info tab). This will automatically take you to a request form that is pre-filled with information for the article you were viewing. Review the form and verify that the information is correct. Then click "Submit Request."

Requesting Items from Scratch: Step 1

Before requesting an item through interlibrary loan, check to see if it is available through Lightner Library, or freely available online.

 

You can check for articles by searching for the journal with the
Find a Journal Title tool.

You can check for books by using the Library Catalog to see if we have the book in print.

You can check for E-books by using the EBSCO E-Book Collection.

Sometimes articles are also openly available online.  A good place to check for this is Google Scholar.  

Requesting Items from Scratch: Step 2

Create a New Request

 

When you are logged into ILLiad, you will see a menu on the left.

 

Click the link that most closely matches the item you need under "New Request.

 

Note: If you are requesting a DVD or VHS, make sure to note the format you need in the "Notes" section of the form.

 

Step 3

Fill out the form with as much detail as possible.

You'll need information such as the title, the author, the publisher (if a book), the journal title and volume/issue numbers (if an article), and the ISBN or ISSN.

- The more information you provide, the faster we can get the item for you!

Note: If you are requesting a DVD or VHS, make sure to note the format you need in the "Notes" section of the form.

You will receive an email notification when your item arrives.

Articles will be delivered electronically and books will be available for pickup at the circulation desk (or mailed directly to you if you live far away). 

 

  • Articles take about 1-2 days.
  • Books take 1-2 weeks.
  • DVDs / VHS take 1-2 weeks.

Finding Books at Other Libraries

Look for Books Owned by Other Libraries

If you want to check and see how many other libraries across the nation have the item you are looking for, you can try searching for it in WorldCat.

This will give you an idea of how easy it will be for us to retrieve it for you on Interlibrary Loan. However, you are not required to check WorldCat before requesting an item.

Note that there is a direct link to request an item in our interlibrary loan system (ILLiad) from WorldCat, so it can be a very easy and convenient way to request a book. Just click "Send Request to Iliad" from the details page for the item.

Next Step