Skip to main content

Keuka College Archives & Special Collections: Welcome

Information about our physical and digital archival collections at Keuka College, including collection development policies, donating, and requesting procedures.

Mission and History

The Keuka College Archives and Special Collections (KCASC) collect, describe, preserve, and make accessible the non-current official records, publications, ephemera, and other materials by and/or about persons, organizations, or events associated with Keuka College, which have legal, administrative, or historical value. In so doing, we support the mission of Lightner Library and Keuka College in bringing its rich history to future generations, in both physical and digital formats.

The development of the Keuka College Archives and Special Collections began in the early 1970s, thanks to the work of Dr. Philip A. Africa (author of Keuka College: A History). Following that time, KCASC has undergone periods of attention and neglect. There is evidence that, over the years, several different people have taken on the organization of the archives. However, donations to the archives have overwhelmed that work and currently it stands that there is a large amount of material in need of processing, and some in need of reprocessing. KCASC holds a wealth of information dating back to the late 1800s, but it's finding that information that's currently the challenge! We at Lightner Library hope to change that for the better over the coming years.

The Keuka College Archives and Special Collections currently consists of our primary room, The Nancy Dean Bailey Archives Room, and 3 storage areas in the bottom floor of Lightner Library.

 

 

Statement of Governance

The KCASC is under the supervision of the Director of the Lightner Library. The Director will be responsible for the appointment of any archival personnel. Any formations or changes in this policy will be approved by the Library Director.

The Director also holds the ultimate responsibility for collection development decisions, as well as determining any restrictions placed on information in the collections of the KCASC.