Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keuka College Archives & Special Collections: Archives Requests

Information about our physical and digital archival collections at Keuka College, including collection development policies, donating, and requesting procedures.

Requests for Researching Archives Materials

We accept requests to research the Archives from Keuka College staff, faculty, students, alumni, and members of the public.

Due to the current changing state of the archives, archival requests must be made with at least 2 weeks notice. Every request must be approved by the library Director.

While the Archives does not currently have a finding aid on the open web for researchers to search, we can research your topic for you and pull materials for your visit.  We cannot allow visitors to enter the archives and pull materials themselves. Original materials must be accessed in Lightner library and may not be checked out. Under special circumstances, we can allow Keuka College staff or faculty members to take materials to another building on campus. Original materials must never leave the premises of Keuka College.  

To make a request to research the Archives, please email your question or research interest to April Higgins at ahiggins@keuka.edu.

Rights and Reproductions

Rights and Reproductions

Materials in KCASC may only be reproduced by the Archives and Special Collections. Reproductions taken from printed or electronic materials which have not been supplied by the Archives are prohibited.

KCASC reserves the right to refuse any request for reproductions if the materials may be damaged by the procedure. KCASC reserves the right to refuse any request for reproductions if it would be in violation of copyright laws.

Contact the Library Director for permission to use reproductions for purposes other than private study, scholarship, and research. Permissions cover one-time use.

Reproductions must be credited as follows:

Courtesy of Keuka College Archives and Special Collections, Keuka Park, NY.

Use of Original Materials from the Archives

Handling & Care

Originals are fragile and must be handled carefully. Do not remove originals from sleeves unless necessary. Un-sleeved photographs and negatives must be handled with archival gloves. Please do not, under any circumstances, mark or alter an original document.

Copies & Scans

Photocopies, photos, and all reproductions must be made with permission from the archives staff. The final decision rests with the library Director.

If you would like scans or photos of certain materials, please request assistance from a library staff member. For more information, see the "Rights and Reproductions" section to the left.

Copyright

Copyright

The researcher is responsible for obtaining any necessary copyright permission.

Permission to reproduce does not constitute permission to publish.

WARNING: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, USC) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, archives and libraries are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse a request for reproduction if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the request would involve violation of the copyright law.

Librarian

April Higgins's picture
April Higgins
Contact:
(315) 279-5411