Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keuka College Archives & Special Collections: KCASC Policies

Information about our physical and digital archival collections at Keuka College, including collection development policies, donating, and requesting procedures.

Archives Collection Development Policy

The Keuka College Archives collects only those materials which are deemed to have legal, administrative, or historical value, and have some relationship to the college. This includes but is not limited to:

  • Documents, records, and publications by or about an entity associated with Keuka College
  • Photographs, sound recordings, and videos of events, traditions, buildings, faculty, staff, students, alumni, visitors, and other subjects associated with Keuka College
  • Artifacts documenting any part of the history of the college

Note: Due to repository space limitations, considerations will have to be made for some items as to whether they will be permanently kept within the archives. The amount of relevant information that could be gleaned from the item will have to be weighed against how much physical space it will take up within the repository.

For example: A t-shirt celebrating the 125th anniversary of the college and a book about the celebration containing historical background information of the college would take up about the same amount of physical space. However, the book contains far more information than the t-shirt.

The Lightner Library reserves the right to accept, refuse, or de-accession any item deemed inessential to the collections of the Keuka College Archives as determined by the Library Director.

Special Collections Collection Development Policy

The Keuka College Special Collections, by definition, has a less-defined policy than that of the archives. These Special Collections contain items of historical or educational interest, which may have only minor associations with the college. Some items may have no connection at all with the college.

Some examples include:

  • Artwork and artifacts obtained as gifts
  • Photographs documenting the travels of an alumnus or alumna
  • Books written by former Keuka College faculty, staff, students, or alumni
  • Documents of historical significance to the local area of Keuka Lake, but not necessarily to the college itself

The Lightner Library reserves the right to accept, refuse, or de-accession any item deemed inessential to the collections of the Keuka College Special Collections as determined by the Library Director.

Librarian

April Higgins's picture
April Higgins
Contact:
(315) 279-5411